Sports News

Paralympics 2020 Pramod Bhagat and DM Suhas Yathiraj Close to Gold Medal

Tokyo Paralympics 2020: India has created history in the Tokyo Paralympics. Reigning world champions Pramod Bhagat and Suhas Yathiraj have reached the finals of their respective categories in men’s singles badminton. Bhagat, 33, world number one and Asian champion, defeated Daisuke Fujihara of Japan 21-11, 21-16 in 36 minutes in the SL3 class.

So Bhagat who reached the gold medal match

This year badminton is being played for the first time in the Paralympics. Therefore, Bhagat became the first Indian to reach the gold medal match. He will face Britain’s, Daniel Bethel. In the SL4 class, Noida District Magistrate Suhas defeated Indonesia’s Freddy Setiawan 21-9, 21-15 in 31 minutes.
Bhagat and Palak Kohli will also play mixed doubles semi-finals

In this classification, only half the court is used. So Bhagat and Fujihara put up long rails. Initially, Bhagat was trailing 2-4. But took an 11-8 lead till the break. After that, maintaining this rhythm. Won the first game with six consecutive points. In the second game, he did not give any chance to the opponent. Bhagat and Palak Kohli will also play the mixed doubles SL3-SU5 semi-finals.

Pramod Bhagat’s left leg deformed with polio at the age of five

At the age of five, Pramod Bhagat’s left leg was deformed due to polio. He has won 45 international medals including four gold in world championships. He won two gold and one silver in the last eight years at the BWF World Championships. In the 2018 Para Asian Games, he won a silver and a bronze.

Manoj will now play for the bronze medal

On the other hand, Manoj Sarkar had to face defeat in the SL3 semi-finals. Manoj was defeated by second seed Bethel 21-8, 21-10. Manoj will now play Fujihara for the bronze medal.

Indian players put up Paralympic best

Indian players have given their best-ever performance in the Paralympics. India, which participated in the Paralympics for the first time in the year 1968, had won a total of 12 medals till the current event and after that, it has achieved historic success by winning 13 medals in a single event.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button