Sports News

NZ v AUS Australia Became T20 World Cup Champion For the First Time

David Warner (53) and Mitchell Marsh (77 *) scored half-centuries as Australia defeated New Zealand by 8 wickets to win the T20 World Cup title for the first time.

Australia won the T20 World Cup for the first time

Mitchell Marsh’s 77 not out off 50 balls and David Warner’s half-century helped five-time world champions Australia beat New Zealand by eight wickets on Sunday to win the T20 World Cup for the first time. The New Zealand team, sent to bat first, scored 172 for four with the help of captain Kane Williamson’s 85 off 48 balls.

Marsh and Warner weighed heavily on Williamson’s batting

Marsh and Warner’s innings overshadowed Williamson’s batting. Marsh hit six fours and four sixes in his innings, out of which Ish Sodhi hit two sixes. He responded to the criticism surrounding his selection in the T20 World Cup squad by playing the most memorable innings of his career so far. At the same time, the notion of T20 cricket as a game of masters of the fast format was also shattered by Australia, which included five Test specialists, fast bowlers Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, and batsmen Warner and Steve Smith in the team.

Warner humiliated by an IPL team

Warner, who humiliate by an IPL team on this ground, played an important role in this victory. Warner’s captaincy snatched in IPL. And he not even given a place in the team in the last matches. He silenced the critics by playing memorable innings on the biggest stage in the T20 format itself. There he sent to bat first. The New Zealand team struggled to score runs in the first ten overs. Martin Guptill scored 28 runs in 35 balls.

After this Williamson changed the map of the innings by scoring 85 runs in 48 balls with the help of 10 fours and three sixes. New Zealand made 115 runs in the last ten overs to make the final match exciting.

Williamson captain to score highest in T20 World Cup final

Williamson, who often proved to be the troubleshooter of his team, batted beautifully, scoring 15 runs in the first 16 balls. Adam Zampa was bowling economical at that time. And Guptill was not in form. Once the momentum caught, Williamson play freely and scored 70 runs in the next 32 balls. Williamson became the captain to score the highest score in the T20 World Cup final, beating Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara. He eased the pressure by scoring 19 runs off Mitchell Starc in the 11th over.

Read More:- T20 World Cup 2021 Australia Becomes the New King of T20

Stark proved to be too expensive

Josh Hazlewood also dropped his catch in the same over. The start proved to be very expensive today. Who gave 60 runs in four overs. While Starc’s second over was poor, the third over was even worse in which New Zealand’s batsmen took 24 runs with four fours and a six.

Hazlewood had a great performance

Hazlewood, on the other hand, took three for 16 in four overs while Zampa took one for 24 in four overs, New Zealand’s innings were in the name of captain Williamson, who proved it. That is why he is counted among the great batsmen of modern cricket. Playing with patience in every format with technical skill is his quality and the biggest thing is this. That he always informed when needed.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button