Sports News

Lionel Messi Wins Ballon dOr Award For Record 7th Time

Messi has recently moved from Barcelona to the Paris Saint Germain (PSG) football club. Now he has captured the Ballon d’Or award for the seventh time.

Messi has scored 40 international goals

Messi had previously won the Ballon d’Or award in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, and 2019. Last year, this award was not given due to the Corona epidemic. Messi has scored 40 international goals in the year 2021. He has scored this goal for Barcelona (28), Argentina (8), and Paris Saint-Germain (4). Let us tell you that Lionel Messi, who played for Barcelona for 15 years, joined the Spanish club Paris Saint-Germain (PSG) a few months ago. In such a situation, this award has become even more special for him.

Read More: This 19year Old Girl Is Jealous Of Her Own Mother You Will Be Surprised To Know The Reason

Who gives the Ballon d’Or award?

Ballon d’Or awards are given by the famous French football magazine Ballon d’Or. This title is given every year to a footballer who has performed brilliantly in the club or national team. This year the 65th edition of the award was held. This award was started in 1956. Stanley Mathews was awarded this award for the first time. Earlier this award was given only to male footballers but since 2018 it is also being awarded to female footballers. This year’s Barcelona mid-fielder Alexia Putelas has won the women’s Ballon d’Or title.

What is Ballon d’Or?

The Ballon d’Or Awards are given by the French football magazine Ballon d’Or. This award is given every year to the best performing player from the club and national team. It started in the year 1956. When this award was first given to Stanley Mathews. Since then it is being given every year. Three years ago i.e. from 2018, women footballers were also given this award.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button