Mahendra Singh Dhoni will no longer be seen while captaining the Yellow Army in IPL 2022. Just before the start of IPL 2022 i.e. on 24 March 2022, Dhoni left the captaincy of Chennai Super Kings thus ending an era of captaincy. Dhoni was one of the most successful captains of IPL and under his leadership, CSK won the title four times. Dhoni had captained this team in 12 seasons between 2008 and 2021.

The appointed new captain of CSK

Chennai Super Kings has appointed Jadeja as the new captain of the team two days before the start of IPL 2022. Chennai team has changed its captain for the first time in the history of IPL. Dhoni had remained the captain of the team since 2008 and he played every match of the IPL under his captaincy. Dhoni will play an IPL match for the first time under the captaincy of another player. The predictions of the two Indian legends have come true as soon as Jadeja became the captain. V Shastri had said that India will get new captains from the IPL. Sunil Gavaskar had said that Jadeja will be the new captain of Chennai.

CSK’s performance under Dhoni’s captaincy in 12 seasons

Mahendra Singh Dhoni took charge of the CSK team for the first time in the year 2008 and this season this team was the runner-up. Right after this, i.e. in the year 2009, this team could reach the semi-finals, and once again this team had to be disappointed, but the next year i.e. in 2010, under the captaincy of Dhoni, CSK became the champion in this tournament for the first time.

Read Also:- CSK New Captain Ravi Shastri and Sunil Gavaskar Prediction Proved to be True

Contenders to become captain if Jadeja’s performance is good

If Jadeja’s performance as the captain of Chennai is good, he can also be a contender to become the captain of Team India. However, the Indian cricket board would not be in favor of giving the captaincy to 33-year-old Jadeja. After Rohit, young players like Rishabh Pant or Lokesh Rahul can be made the captain of India.

What was Shastri’s statement?

Ravi Shastri had said that India will get new captains from IPL. He had said, “Virat is no longer the captain, but Rohit’s performance has been excellent. Especially in ODIs and T20s. Now India will see who will be the captain of the future. Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant, and KL Rahul are involved in this race. The Indian team will be looking for a strong captain and all these players will have a chance in this IPL.”

Dhoni again made the team the champion in the year 2018. In 2019, this team was the runner-up, while in the year 2020, this team could not reach the playoffs for the first time, but in the year 2021, this team again proved itself by becoming the champion. Under Dhoni’s captaincy, CSK could not reach the playoffs only once in 12 seasons, while becoming champions four times and runner-up five times.