Sports News

Alex Carey Biography, Stats, and Latest News

Australia’s wicket-keeper batsman Alex Carey on Wednesday created history by scoring a century on the third day of the Boxing Day Test against South Africa. Carey became the first wicket-keeper batsman in the world to score a century in the Boxing Day Test.

The first batch of Australia’s traveling squad included star batsmen Steve Smith and Marnus Labuschagne along with Alex Carey who landed in India. The top-order batsman along with wicketkeeper-batsman Carey arrived in Bengaluru on Wednesday ahead of the Border Gavaskar Trophy 4-Test series starting on February 9.

Carey is preparing himself to play in his maiden World Cup in the 2019 edition. Not someone who can explode the ball from the word go, his batting skills revolve around manipulating the ball through the gaps and skilful touch.

The 2015–16 season was a great one for Carey in grade cricket and he had such an impact that he received a call-up for the final rounds of the Sheffield Shield later that season. He managed to catch the eye of the selectors and earned his first senior contract for South Australia for the 2016–17 season. This proved to be the turning point for Carey as he became only the fourth gloveman to score over 500 runs and make 50 dismissals in a single Sheffield Shield season.

Alex Carey Personal Details:

Full NameAlex Tyson Carey
NickNameTyson, Kez
BornAug 27, 1991
Birth Of PlaceLoxton, South Australia
Batting StyleLeft Handed Bat
Test Debut08th December 2021 (England)
ODI Debut19th Jan 2018 (England)
T20I Debut03rd February 2018 (New Zealand)
IPL Debut11th October 2020 (Mumbai Indians)

Alex Carey Batting Summary:


Latest News:

Alex Carey was a member of the first batch of Australian cricketers who arrived in Bengaluru ahead of the much-anticipated 4-Test Border Gavaskar Trophy. Notably, the Australian stars attended the Cricket Australia Awards on Monday night before leaving for India in two batches. Smith won the Allan Border Medal at the Cricket Australia Awards, becoming only the third cricketer after Ricky Ponting and Michael Clarke to win the honor 4 times.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button